[VISA] How to get Chile Visa for Indians

Chile would have been one of the easiest Visas to get, had demonetization been announced a week later in India.Screen Shot 2017-03-11 at 8.40.24 PM.jpg

  • Website: http://chile.gob.cl/nueva-delhi/en/
  • Cost:
    • US $50 – Single Entry
    • US $81 – Multiple Entry (If you’re planning a road trip or intend to travel to Argentina as well then please choose Multiple entry)
  • Processing time: Once the payment is made the Passport is stamped the same day but they mention two working days (So, keep some buffer time). Total turnaround time was 12 days (Would have been way lesser if I was staying in New Delhi)
  • Embassy: New Delhi
  • Email Id: nuevadelhi@consulado.gob.cl
  • Visa Requested: 30 days, Multiple Entry
  • Visa Issued: 60 days multiple entry
  • Validity: 60 days from the date of arrival but to be used within 90 days of Issue
  • Online form: https://tramites.minrel.gov.cl/
  • Documents:  They don’t accept any hard copy of documents. All the documents are to be uploaded on the online form.

Entire Experience from Online form filling to Getting the passport stamped:

I filled the online form which was slightly troublesome because the page wouldn’t work on my laptop. I eventually used my friend’s laptop (With a different Operating System) to fill the form. Try every browser and a different OS if you’re facing any problem.

Once I had successfully filled the form, I kept checking the status. To my surprise, I got an email with an interview date 4 working days after submitting the form. I had not read anywhere about an interview in the picture. Also, the date given to me was very close to flight date (I was flying on the 20th Nov, the interview date was 18th Nov) and their embassy is in New Delhi which is not so close from Mumbai (my residence city then). I requested them to reschedule my interview date and also informed them that I had all my other Visas in place. Please attach all the Visas to your online application that you think can make your case stronger.

They replied within a day that the interview has been canceled as I have all other visas. The status was soon changed to ‘Payable’. Now I didn’t know what this meant. I wrote to them multiple times for an explanation but no response. Their phone always ends in voicemail which never gets answered. I eventually booked my tickets for Delhi when I couldn’t wait any longer.

They were really helpful at the embassy though. One of the best embassy experiences I had in India. I was asked to come with Demand Draft of required amount by next day morning. And my passport was stamped the same day.

IMG_6394

The only issue was getting that DD done as the country was going through a very difficult time with the announcement of demonetization. I was backpacking so did not have a cheque book with me and the cash withdrawal limit was much lesser than what I needed. Also, people had been queueing in banks since days, There was no cash in any of the ATMs I went to. And I did go to quite a lot of them from one end of the city to the other. There was no way I could get the required amount.

A friend who works in a bank helped me out otherwise I don’t think I would have been able to enter Chile at all as they don’t give Visa that easy to Indians outside the country of residence.

Eventually, everything turned out well and I had all the Visas I was hoping to get minus Uruguay (I eventually didn’t go to that country).

2 thoughts on “[VISA] How to get Chile Visa for Indians

  1. I strongly recommend taking a multiple entry visa if you are visiting Argentina as well. It would be cheaper and convenient to cross border with Chile and Argentina couple of times. Unfortunately, I did not know this and got single entry visa. I approached Chile embassy in Buenos Aires to make it multiple entry. They said its like akin to issueing a new visa and will take 20 days. Further they advised, once I enter Chile, it should be easy to do. Lets see how I am going to make to Patagonia and North Chile smoothly and economically.

    Like

Leave a Reply

