[Hampi] Day 01- Bicycle tour in solitude

This is one place a lot of fellow travelers and friends suggested I immediately add to my travel calendar. This year it did make it to my calendar (Also, because it was my first travel calendar) and fortunately till now I’ve stuck to my calendar.

I knew going there in March wouldn’t be a great idea but I wanted to use my leave at work judiciously as I had plans to go on a longer international trip this year (The plan has changed now btw). March had a 4 day long weekend, add two leave and I have almost a week of travel. Hurray!!

In the quest to save for my international travel I’m saving every penny that I can. So, I’m trying to travel really cheap it translated into traveling by a non A/C sleeper coach of Indian railways. But I didn’t really mind it but it was way better than I had expected.

PhotoFunia-1.jpg

I reached Hospet (the closest railway station to Hampi) late in the evening around 8:40 p.m. So, I took an auto-rikshaw to Hampi. After about 15 minutes I could see the silhouettes of stone against the dark blue sky and it left me teary eyed. I realized I had stayed away from the road a little too long.

I immediately rented a bike for the next day (which is not a good idea btw). There’s nothing much to do except walk around the narrow streets of the place, not that I mind it at all but just to keep your expectations in check. I sat inside this beautiful temple where quite a lot of people were actually sleeping and had I not paid up for my guest house already I would have considered sleeping there as well, under the clear sky, looking endlessly at the stars.

DSC05709
Temple compound people were sleeping in

The first morning in Hampi:

I started later than my planned time but it was a good start nevertheless thanks to these two amazing kids who decided to spend their time showing me around.

DSC05468.JPG
My guides for the day

The place is as I had guessed from the silhouettes breathtakingly beautiful. It’s nothing like the places I’ve seen before. It’s different. It made me wonder how can destruction, ruins of a sad time be so beautiful. 

DSC05467

PhotoFunia-2.jpg

DSC05509
This is one place I was constantly seeing  myself visiting (Although in my imagination I was wearing a gown sitting by the steps).  Unfortunately, you’re not allowed to get any closer than that
DSC05603
Shiv ling that’s immersed in 3 feet water

I spent my day on my bike hopping around temples. It did get really hot as the day progressed but then I found my respite in this simple canal on the outskirts of Kamlapur (the nearest town from Hampi).

PhotoFunia-3.jpg

After cooling down I started my journey back again. By the time I reached the next place, I was almost dried up or at least I thought so till I overheard someone saying “Maybe she fell in the underground temple”.

DSC05570
The underground temple
DSC05528.JPG
The only way a selfie works for me is through self-timer

 

I closed my day of biking around by sitting here for about an hour. It was peaceful and beautiful.

DSC05688

PhotoFunia-4
Loyal companion for the day – My bike
2 thoughts on “[Hampi] Day 01- Bicycle tour in solitude

    1. The place is as safe or as dangerous as the rest of India. During the day time it was really fine as it’s full of tourists. During the evening I walked around my guest house and didn’t really venture far. Temple area near the river was good to take a walk even in the evening.
      Some people hire an auto rikshaw for the day. But it’s really not much to bike.
      Let me know if you’ve more questions. Would love to help 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

